top of page

Thomas Hass aka Thomas Hass Christensen      Born in Frederiksberg, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Thomas Hass is a tenor and soprano saxophonist with roots in the afroamerican jazzsaxophone tradition. He debuted as a recording artist in 1988 with the live recording "Beating Bop" from the legendary jazz club Montmartre in Nørregade with the award-winning quintet Page One.

He has since released several albums both as a leader and co-leader together with some of Denmark's most outstanding musicians. He has as a saxophonist with a few detours been predominantly concentrated on interpreting his own compositions in the classical jazz quartet format. But his latest release "The Shortlist" (2022), together with drummer Thomas Blachman, is a tribute to the music of Wayne Shorter as well as his recording "Live at Copenhagen Jazzhouse" from 2008 was partly a tribute to John Coltrane.

Thomas Hass has been involved passionately with music all his life both as a performing musician, arranger and composer, and award-winning saxophonist. He studied composition at RMC in Copenhagen with Bob Brookmeyer. He has worked as a teacher on the music conservatories in Aarhus: Det Jyske Musikkonservatorium, Odense: Syddansk Musikkonservatorium and Copenhagen: RMC.

He is based North Zealand, north of Copenhagen, where he, besides from his composer activities, also is a part of the regions and Copenhagens flourishing jazz community and has released 15 albums as a leader or co-leader.

As a score composer he has among others composed the scores to the international TV series “Good Behavior" feat. Michelle Dockery (TNT) , “Jo” feat. Jean Reno (TF1), and the feature films “Hannibal & Jerry” and “Over Gaden – Under Vandet” feat. Sidse Babett Knudsen (Over the Street – Below the Water).

Besides his works for ballet, the Danish Radio Bigband, and various groups he is the founder of the electronic ensemble “The Society” together with producer Tommy Gee. He has toured most of the world and been on stage with some of the most significant artists of his generation. Among others Joe Lovano, Thomas Blachman, Lars Jansson, Lennart Ginman, Lis Sørensen, Lars H.U.G., Bent Fabricius Bjerre, Kasper Winding, Cæcilie Norby, Carsten Dahl, Lisa Nilsson, Rakalam Bob Moses and Tomasz Stanko. 


1997 - 1999 RMC Composition/Bob Brookmeyer.



1987 - Winner of the European Jazzfederation contest for young groups with "Page One".


1993 - Danish Grammy for the album "Notes in Time".



2019 - Major Grant from Danish Art Council to the concert theater ensemble Britta, Blue & Barock.

2002 til today - Various work grants from Danish Art Council, DMF, Augustinus Fonden, Wilhelm Demant Fonden and Autor (DJBFA)

bottom of page